It’s been a hard couple of weeks

Ber on a Bike

 

Dear Reader,
I thought I posted this post last week. I clearly did not. Here is a slightly outdated yet relevant post, from my finer tips to your heart. 

– Joseph

 

Two weeks ago my bike was stolen. I’m sorry that sentence was a little to passive. Let me try again. Two weeks ago some scumbag stole my bike, and if I ever find them, they will not walk again.

I don’t generally don’t get attached to material possessions. I’m no monk. I have a favorite pair of jeans. I really like books. Losing things you are used to sucks. But when I can’t find my awesome vintage tie I shrug and move on. A friend of mine takes this to a whole other level: when someone says they really liked her earrings, or her necklace, she would offer it to them, even push it on them. That is some awesome home training if you ask me.

So back to this scumbag and my bike. My bike is the possession I’ve had longer than any other, and for large swaths of my life over the course of the last 12 years I spent long and intimate hours with it, and I loved every second of it. It is the one possession I spent a lot of money on, and invested in over time.

So that sucked.

Then yesterday, against my better judgement, against my own nerdy schedule, against the warnings of my over taxed central nervous system, I went to the gym. I felt exactly the way I felt the last time I threw my back out, but I went for it anyway. On the last rep of my first set of squats, I felt the tweak. I put the bar in the rack and walked straight out of the weight room. Today I am laying on a heating pad with pillows under my legs.

So the last couple of weeks, not so great.

But if I am going to take any of my own medicine. I will stay focused on the long haul. I will try and learn a lesson or two from a crappy couple of days. I will stand back up and  move forward.

This medicine sucks.

[Editor’s Note – A group of friends collected money for me to get a new bike, thanks! And a few days after my back going out I went cross country skiing in Vermont for two days with my buddy from Milo and the Calf. This medicine rocks!]

 

About JTP

An occasional reader, an occasional writer, an occasional podcast producer, an occasional strategist.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

