To run, or not

Gurl, your feet must be tired…. You’ve been running through my dreams alllll night!

It’s been a busy week at work. And I am feeling under the weather. Usually I would say screw it and work out anyway. But lessons have been learned, and science has been read, and I know how important my immune system is in recovery from work outs, let alone fighting off whatever it is I caught on the subway from one of you, my nasty readers.

So instead I have been reading about working out, and eating, and of course decision making and brain science (my other obsessions).  Something I read recently somehow fits into the category of working out and decision making. It isn’t coherent yet in my brain, the coffee is still settling into all the slow moving gears, but it is there.

Check out this good essay from the New York times about long distance runners. Let me entice you with a quote:

Nonrunners often imagine that people can cover 26.2 miles only because they have lean, muscled legs and a highly developed cardiovascular system. Nothing could be further from the truth. The runner’s most important organ, by far, is the brain — the source of our dreams, drive and determination. Almost a century ago, the great Finnish distance runner Paavo Nurmi said: “Mind is everything; muscle, mere pieces of rubber. All that I am, I am because of my mind.”

About JTP

An occasional reader, an occasional writer, an occasional podcast producer, an occasional strategist.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

