WOD 5.9.09 – Heroes

Who is your hero? I have been working out as a serious part of my life for about 4 years. But I am not a jock. I don’t follow sports, I don’t even play sports (but I should, more on that later). My heroes have never been the greats of sports. My heroes have always been those fighting for liberation. I am inspired by those who rise up, who claim their world, who are fierce. People like: Sylvia Rivera, James Baldwin, and James Connolly. These are just a few of my heroes.

sylvia_riverajames-baldwinjames_connolly13

I think of them when I am at the bottom, when I want to give up, when I am overwhelmed. This applies to political work, life, and working out. I will be creating WOD’s that honor our heroes. Name your heroes in the comments so we can honor them with our sweat, with our continued work for liberation and justice.

Warm Up
50 Jumping Jacks
10 Squats
5  Push Ups
x3

“Sylvia”
25 Tuck Jumps
5 Burpees

x 5

Get it done as fast as possible. Post time to comments.

About JTP

An occasional reader, an occasional writer, an occasional podcast producer, an occasional strategist.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to WOD 5.9.09 – Heroes

  1. seanv2 says:

    I would have to say today it’d be Amartya Sen, Meb Keflezighi, Jeffrey Canada.

  2. JP says:

    i don’t know who these people are, but we will do it!

  3. Suzanne says:

    hey Joe, this is Steve’s sister Suzanne, he just told me about your site. Dave and I have been doing Crossfit for about a year now so it’s awesome to find something tilted more left!

    Some of my heroes are Dr. Allan Rosenfield, Rosa Parks, Jonathan Mann.

    • JP says:

      Hey Suzanne,
      great! are you all training at a box or at home? i will add your names to the list. keep an eye out for them as they come up.
      -jp

      • Dave says:

        Hey Joe, I do some WODs at MIT where I work, when I can, they have great gyms with a lot of excellent gear include some serious olympic lifting equipment, and the staff is pretty cool, so you can make Crossfit work there.

        Otherwise we’ve got a set of standard stuff at home including rings, pull-up bar and dumbbell/barbells so we make do.

        Subscribed to your site on RSS…excellent!!

        Best,
        Dave

        P.S. Some heroes of mine: John Coltrane, Galileo Galilei (THAT’D be a funny name for a WOD…).

      • JP says:

        it is good to have a nicely outfitted gym. It sounds like you all aren’t hurting at home either. The place i train is a classic box. With all the needed gear, but not an over abundance. I will add your heroes. Also post some of your workouts to the comments, even if you dont do the one’s i list here.

        keep on reading!
        jp

  4. Purvi says:

    Bhagat Singh and Audre Lorde

  5. steve says:

    warm up + work out = 22:13
    not even listening to 108 could i get a decent time.
    sigh…my heros would not be proud.

    • JP says:

      your heroes would not what? That is great time for a quick little workout. How did you feel? was it hard?

  6. steve says:

    yeah, it was hard. although i kept thinking about that article you posted about how the brain quits before the body does.
    which i think is very true in my case.

    also: my knees were killing me after the tuck jumps, seems like from the impact, even tho i was jumping on grass.

Leave a Reply

