Back in the typing chair, not the gym

I was supposed to go to the South East Regional Qualifiers for the Crossfit games this weekend. But I was knocked on my bum by a sickness that is sticking with me.The third time this year.

I am thinking I have been getting sick so much because I haven’t been resting enough. I take my rest days from working out, I don’t work 7 days a week, but when I am not doing either it doesn’t mean I am resting.

My sleep has been off lately. Doing the intense work outs I do I should be getting a minimum of 8 hours a night. For the past three months its been more like 6.5 – 7.

On my days off from work I am still thinking about work, or stressing about work, or generally preoccupied with events of the world. This is common for people who do paid work and unpaid work in social justice movements.

And now I am sick and stressing further about work and my missed workouts (as well as my missed games). This cycle of stress, and stress on top of it, and then sickness – it is no good for anyone. It is the opposite of why I work out the way I do, and eat the way I do. I am working against myself and my goals.

Dealing with stress in a healthy way is key to longevity, health (physical, emotional, and spiritual) and even fitness.

It is time to get back to good practices of getting enough sleep, meditating, and smiling more.

About JTP

An occasional reader, an occasional writer, an occasional podcast producer, an occasional strategist.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Back in the typing chair, not the gym

  1. seanv2 says:

    The more I work out, the more important I realize sleep is. Get back into bed, and then get back to the gym!

Leave a Reply

